Our Governors

Rob Hull(Chair of the Corporation)

After a career in Government service, which covered most aspects of education policy and funding, Rob Hull has had a range of non-executive roles on voluntary and public service boards. He was until recently vice chair of the board of London Metropolitan University and chair of governors at Holloway School. He has a particular interest in tackling disadvantage and widening opportunities in education and training. Rob is also a governor of the Cripplegate Foundation which addresses poverty and inequality in Islington, and chairs the board of Islington Giving, an initiative which involves local businesses and individuals in changing people’s lives.

Appointed: December 2018
Committees: Finance, Property, Search, Remuneration

Steve Hedges, Staff Governor (Support)

Steve has more than 20 years’ experience in the FE sector as a lecturer, curriculum manager and service manager. He has worked at a variety of colleges and across the years has undertaken a variety of additional tasks, such as, delivering sessions on quality and observation systems to vocational colleges in Saudi Arabia, acting as a member of the original FELTAG group and discussing FE issues with David Evennett MP whilst serving as Support Staff Governor of Hackney Community College. Steve's specialisms include Computing, IT and eLearning and eSafety.

Steve holds a Masters Degree in Computing and Information Systems and a Cert-Ed.

Appointed:  December 2016
Committees:  Curriculum, Quality & Students 

Gerry McDonald, Group Principal & CEO

Gerry became Principal of Tower Hamlets College in April 2013 following almost four years as the college’s Vice Principal – Curriculum & Standards. Following mergers with Hackney Community College, Redbridge College, Epping Forest College, Havering College of Higher and Further Education and Havering Sixth Form College he became Group Principal and CEO of the combined New City College in April 2017.

New City College is the second largest college in London and the eighth in England with a total income of £65m, over 5000 16-18 year olds and 9000 adult learners. Gerry is a qualified business studies teacher who has worked in the sector since 1993.

He holds business degrees from the University of West of England and Aston and a PGCE from Manchester Metropolitan University. Gerry has worked in sixth form and further education colleges in Birmingham and London, leading on business development, mergers, curriculum improvement, inspection and culture change.

He sits on the college’s Corporation as an ex-officio member and also serves on Finance and General Purposes, Search and Curriculum & Quality sub-committees. Gerry is a co-opted committee member of Association of Colleges London following his election to the main AoC board in December 2014. He also serves on the AoC’s national Employment and Audit Committees

Appointed: April 2013
Committees: Search; Finance & General Purposes; Curriculum, Quality & Students, Property

Gareth Wall

Gareth is currently Public Health Manager at the London Borough of Hackney, having previously been the Council’s Head of Overview and Scrutiny, contributing to its strategic and corporate planning processes. He has extensive experience having worked for Centre for Public Scrutiny and Improvement and Development Agency.

Appointed:  July 2016
Committees:  Audit

Vivien Bailey OBE

Vivien Bailey OBE has many years' experience as a teacher, curriculum manager, local authority and awarding body adviser, consultant and education inspector. A former full-time HMI and manager at Ofsted, Vivien is now a registered Ofsted inspector specialising in quality assurance of FE and skills inspection reports. Vivien holds qualified teacher status.

Vivien as an honours degree in English and French and a Post Graduate Certificate of Education. She holds qualified teacher status and received an OBE in 2010 for services to Ofsted.

Appointed: October 2014
Committees: Curriculum, Quality & Students

Diana Murray

Diana has over ten years' experience of manageing communications and marketing across the public and charity sector. Diana also has eight years' experience of working as a Business Studies Lecturer in an inner London FE college. She is a trustee of a welfare rights charity, and enjoys hiking and going to the gym regularly. She joined NCC from Epping Forest College's Board of Governors at point of merger on 1.8.18.

Appointed: July 2018
Committees: Search, CQ&S

Marilyn Hawkins -

Appointed: July 2018
Committees: F&GP, Remuneration, Search and CQ&S

Nikki Makwina

Appointed: September 2014
Committees: CQ&S

Lutfey Siddiqi

Lutfey Siddiqi is an Adjunct Professor at the National University of Singapore (NUS). Until December 2018, he was a Visiting Professor-in-Practice at the London School of Economics where he remains a member of Court, the Investment Committee, and advisory board member of the Systemic Risk Centre. He was previously an investment banker responsible for business lines across emerging markets, and Asia-Pacific, based in Singapore for over a decade. He was recognised as a Young Global Leader by the World Economic Forum in 2012 where he's served on several councils and steering groups. In addition, he is a Distinguished Fellow at Policy Research Institute, Bangladesh. Lutfey is also a member of the governing board of UWC Atlantic College.

Appointed: April 2018
Committees: F&GP, Remuneration

Neil Yeomans

Neil has recently retired having spent over 30 years working in audit and accounting for one of the largest global professional services firms, and was a partner for the last 20 years. He has travelled extensively and worked in Australia for 2 years and Poland for 3 years. He is a qualified chartered accountant and as well as skills in financial management and control, he has experience in project management, risk management and governance.

Neil is a trustee of 2 multi-academy trusts as well as being governor of a primary school. He works with a number of charitable and voluntary organisations in the fields of education and care for those with disabilities. He is also a mentor for a number of start-up businesses as well as university students looking to enter in to the world of work.

Appointed: December 2018
Committees: Audit, Search, Remuneration

Cynthia Griffin

Appointed: December 2018
Committees: CQ&S, Audit

Stephen Critoph

Appointed: July 2019
Committees: F&GP and Remuneration

Marina Antoniou

Appointed: July 2019
Committees: Audit

Richard Bint

Appointed: July 2019
Committees: Havering Local Board and F&GP

Dawn Samwell

Appointed: July 2019
Committees: Havering Local Board and CQ&S

Malcolm O'Brien

Appointed: July 2019
Committees: Havering Local Board and Remuneration