T Levels

Intensive industry placement and technical study.

Are T Levels better than A Levels?

Due to being very different qualifications intended for different things, there is no true answer as to whether T Levels are better than A Levels. It depends on your personal strengths, preferences and opinions as to which you prefer, and which is better for you to study. However, there are benefits and downsides to each qualification.

How many UCAS points are T Levels and A Levels worth?

Universities in the UK accept T Levels and A Levels as generally equivalent, with a T Level being worth usually 3 A Levels. This is why you only take one T Level at a time. The grades are explained in this table, but essentially for each level of grades there is a general point value, which is equivalent to a T Level grade, or an A Level grade.

UCAS points T Level grade A Level grades
168 Distinction* (A* core, distinction in occupation specialism) A*A*A*
144 Distinction AAA
120 Merit BBB
96 Pass (C or above core) CCC
72 Pass (D or E core) DDD

Apply now

  • How will T Levels be graded?

    Students will be graded for their Core Assessment: A* to E and U (ungraded) and Occupational Specialism Assessment method: Distinction, Merit, Pass and U (ungraded).

    For students who want to progress to higher education, UCAS tariff points will also be allocated to the overall T Level grade.

  • How do T Levels work?

    T Levels consist of several essential elements:

    • An approved Technical Qualification (TQ) that provides technical knowledge and practical skills specific to a learner’s chosen industry or occupation.
    • ‘On-the-job’ experience during an industry placement of at least 350 hours.
    • Functional skills in maths, English and digital at a minimum of Level 2, or GCSEs in English and maths.
    • transferable workplace skills.
    • Enrichment and tutorials.
  • What can I do after a T Level?

    T Levels can open up a wide range of progression opportunities for students to consider.

    Your T Level will be worth UCAS points, a T Level Distinction* is worth the same as 3 A Levels at A*, and will be recognised by universities and other education providers so you can choose to continue studying if you wish.

    You could progress to:

  • Are T Levels recognised by employers?

    Yes! The T Level programme has been developed in collaboration with sector experts and leading employers to ensure they meet the needs of the workforce and set learners up for success. T Levels are just as valid as A levels and recognised by employers and the wider industry for their rigour and quality.

  • Why choose New City College?

    Students studying at New City College will benefit from:

    • skilled teachers who are passionate about your course subject
    • purpose-designed training rooms
    • onsite work environments
    • in-house support by our qualified practitioners
    • valuable industry placements